News Articles

Friday, October 4, 2019

SACRAMENTO – Building on the state’s historic investment in two years of free community college and substantial state budget investments that allowed the University of California and the California State University to freeze tuition, Governor Gavin Newsom signed a series of bills into law today focused on affordability, transparency and integrity in higher education. The bills expand access to financial aid for students, strengthen integrity in college admissions and enhance oversight of for-profit colleges in California.

Friday, October 4, 2019

California Governor Gavin Newsom has given no hint about his plans for S.B. 127, the Complete Streets For All bill authored by San Francisco Senator Scott Wiener. He has three choices: sign it, veto it, or ignore it and let it become law when his deadline to act expires on October 13.

Tuesday, October 1, 2019

“I am undocumented, and I have three kids. One lives in Palmdale, two with me. They’re citizens. I’m from Nayarit, Mexico. I’ve been in California 33 years.” The speaker, a middle-aged woman I’ll call M, who used to take under-the-table cleaning jobs, has found it ever harder in recent years to find employment.

Saturday, August 31, 2019

A proposed California tax credit to attract productions that leave states implementing fetal heartbeat anti-abortion legislation has been delayed.

The bill, which would cover five years with a $50 million annual allocation, was paused before a hearing Friday before the Senate Appropriations Committee.

Friday, August 30, 2019

A bill in the California legislature designed to attract productions from states like Georgia that have passed restrictive abortion laws has been paused in the state Assembly.

The legislation, put forth by Assemblywoman Luz Rivas (D-Arleta) and known as the Share Our Values Film Tax Credit, was held by Rivas on Friday in the fiscal Senate Appropriations Committee.

Friday, August 30, 2019

The California legislator spearheading the bill promising additional tax incentives to film and television projects relocating from states with restrictive abortion laws has pressed pause on the proposal.

Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Legislators from the California Legislative Jewish Caucus and the California Latino Legislative Caucus visited the Otay Mesa Detention Center and the Jewish Family Service (JFS) Migrant Family Shelter in San Diego, on Aug. 9.
The delegation toured both facilities, conducted interviews with detainees at Otay Mesa and met with migrant families at the JFS facility.